Passenger Seat

car.jpg

Photo Credit:  Clem Onojeghuo

You roll down the window and tell me to come in

Open door lets out chilled air as I slide into the passenger’s seat

I am your Guest because there is nothing here I can claim as my own.

From your conversation, to the minutes peeling off the digital clock,

to the fumes dissipated from the exhaust as the car runs parked.

Soon I will have to leave – but I sit here as your guest

listen to you talk, sing, complain and laugh –

hoping that I will be able to extend to you my own invitation.

Leave a Reply

